Lakeside Primary School

Religious Education (RE)

The Gloucestershire Religious Syllabus

Click here for our Lakeside RE Progression Document

We follow the Gloucestershire Agreed Syllabus for RE. 

The agreed syllabus requires that all pupils develop understanding of Christianity in each key stage. In addition, across the age range, pupils will develop understanding of the principal religions represented in the UK, in line with the law. These are Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism, Buddhism and Judaism.

Furthermore, children from families where non-religious worldviews are held are represented in almost all of our classrooms. These worldviews, including for example Humanism, will also be the focus for study in thematic units.