Lakeside Primary School

Governing Body Structures & Meetings


Our Governing Body is chaired by David Young. 

Each term we hold a Full Governing Body (FGB) meeting, which is preceded by meetings of our two committees. This enables Governors to work to their strengths and ensure the Full Governing Body is well informed and able to make good judgements and decisions. Our Full Governing Body meetings are attended by the Head Teacher, Governors, Associate Governors, and the School Business Manager.

Curriculum and Standards Committee 

The Curriculum and Standards Committee focuses on attainment and progress in each year group, extra-curricular provision, how Lakeside is working towards the government's new SATs (Standard Assessment Tests), how e-safety is taught and monitored in school, and how the curriculum is meeting the needs of every child in the school.


  • Isobel Rutt (Chair)

  • Jon Moss (Head Teacher)
  • Tina Richards (Associate Governor, Deputy Head Teacher)

  • Naomi Boast (Parent Governor)

  • James Fry (Co-opted Governor)
  • Ben Edwards (Parent Governor)

  • Zuzana Neill (Staff Governor)

  • Fiona Templeton (Co-Opted Governor)

Finance and Resources Committee

The Finance Committee ensure effective governance over finances and staffing. We monitor the school’s financial position, review and agree staff changes, approve key items of expenditure, and monitor how we spend monies allocated to us regarding the Pupil and Sports Premiums. The committee also undertakes the monitoring and allocation of the School Fund.

The committee is concerned with the use of the school’s premises, grounds and extended facilities, including Health and Safety. The committee makes recommendations on catering, cleaning, decorating and maintenance, and the IT provision. It monitors efficient use of utilities such as water, electricity or gas and maintains an overview of costs and lettings policies of the premises. Members also visit school to discuss specific topics such as provision for children with special educational needs or disabilities.


  • James Fry (Chair)

  • Jon Moss (Head Teacher)

  • Eleanor Sharman (Co-Opted Governor)

  • Peter Walbridge (Co-Opted Governor)

  •  Martin Ball (LA Governor)

  • Alexandra Hayes (Co-Opted Governor)

Link Governors

Link Governors provide a crucial link between the Governing Body and the school. When Link Governors visit the school and report back to the Governing Body, they help all governors to deepen their understanding of how the school operates, how the strategic objectives are being pursued, how financial resources are being used, and what extra support the school may need to meet its objectives. Our current link governors are:

GDPR (Data Protection)

Peter Walbridge

Sports Premium Outcomes

Martin Ball


Isobel Rutt

Pupil Premium Outcomes

Fiona Templeton


Naomi Boast

Health & Safety and Premises

James Fry

Staff including Mental Health & Wellbeing

Alexandra Hayes

ICT & School Website

James Fry

Safer Recruitment

Jon Moss 

Finance (including Pupil Premium)

 James Fry

Equality and Policies

 Eleanor Sharman

Community Engagement

 Martin Ball